Community Round Table

How to Deal with the Pain of Change

boxes

This week in the Round Table we discussed how life is not a static process but a dynamic flow of events that must be adapted to and grown along-with. That’s the essence of change.

In this week’s round up, you will learn:-

  • How to deal with the pain of change.
  • The story of how one man’s quest to understand manhood made him realize that it was within him all along.
  • Other interesting stories from around the web.

 


 

How to Deal with the Pain of Change

Change is painful.

When a neonate is thrust out of its mother’s womb, it feels pain as its sanctuary is snatched from it.

When a little child rides a bicycle for the first time, he/she has to suffer the pain of numerous falls and wounds to truly learn how to ride and not be afraid of falls anymore.

When we fall in love, and then have our hearts broken into a million pieces, the pain teaches us that our heart is big enough to find and fall in love again.

Pain is our constant companion through life.

Unfortunately, while it sounds poetic and beautiful when we talk about pain in its absence, the reality of it is anything but beautiful.

Then how do you deal with the pain of change?

I cannot answer that with certainty. Because what works for me may not work for you.

But I will tell you this: Pain is the measure of your courage.

It is the emotion that asks you to stop and introspect, rather than run away and suppress.

It asks you to focus on the wounds and understand that it cannot heal until you pick out the shards of glass stuck in it. Until you purge the poison from without.

It tests your resilience. And tests your courage. Because the one who can face pain and not run away, comes out on the other side like tempered steel.

What do I do?

When I feel the claws of pain raking down my heart and mind, my first instinct is to turn tail and run.

Run far so I cannot feel the pain again.

So I do this instead: I take out my journal and write.

I allow every painful memory to come lashing out, and I don’t let the words stop flowing onto the page until I have purged it all out.

And then something amazing happens.

The pain turns into understanding. And it ceases to hurt so much.

Other times I cry in isolation.

I feel that’s the best way to cry. With no one around to affect the depth of your cries. No societal pressures to turn it down. And no one to feed your dramatic side unnecessarily.

So I cry. And when my heart is sated, peace flows in and brings with it wisdom.

I don’t know if these techniques will work for you, but they have allowed me to work through my pain and grow faster.

And at the end of the day, that’s all anyone can ask.

 


 

boy to man

What Does it Mean to Become a Man?

Tim Noonan is an extreme adventurer who went through the brutal rites of passage of manhood of various obscure tribes and communities around the world in a quest to discover what it means to be a man.

You can watch his journey on Discovery Channel’s Boy to Man.

But that’s not what I want to share with you here today.

Tim Noonan was a guest on Lewis Howes’ School of Greatness show on YouTube recently. And in this 1 hr long interview he describes the most significant parts of his journey and how at the end of it he realized that his manhood had always been inside of him.

You can watch it here. Believe me, it will blow your mind!


darren-coleshill-71030-min

Bits and Bobs Around the Web

 

 

 

 


 

That’s it for this week. Take care and keep an eye out for the Monday morning newsletter.

Valeria.

P.S. If you are not a member of the Exclusive Reader’s Club, you can join for free right here. You will get instant access to an entire box full of Tarot books and resources to grow spiritually.

Leave a Reply

